Friday, December 30, 2016

Obama Appoints 4 To Holocaust Memorial Council

Even though the formal change in Administrations is less than a month away, President Obama continues to make Presidential appointments to various councils.  Yesterday the White House announced that the President intends to appoint four individuals to the United States Holocaust Memorial Council. The four are: Walter Ray Allen Jr. (a retired professional basketball player), Deborah A. Oppenheimer (an independent film producer), Scott Straus (University of Wisconsin professor), and Jeremy M. Weinstein (Stanford University professor). According to the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum website:
The [Holocaust Memorial] Council, which meets twice a year, consists of 55 members appointed by the president, as well as five members each from the Senate and House of Representatives and three ex-officio members from the Departments of Education, Interior, and State. Presidential appointments serve for a five-year term; 11 members’ terms expire each year.