Tuesday, May 01, 2018

Congressional Freethought Caucus Is Launched

In a press release yesterday, four members of the U.S. House of Representatives announced the formation of the Congressional Freethought Caucus.  The founders set out four goals for the new organization:
1) to promote public policy formed on the basis of reason, science, and moral values; 2) to protect the secular character of our government by adhering to the strict Constitutional principle of the separation of church and state; 3) to oppose discrimination against atheists, agnostics, humanists, seekers, religious and nonreligious persons, and to champion the value of freedom of thought and conscience worldwide; and 4) to provide a forum for members of Congress to discuss their moral frameworks, ethical values, and personal religious journeys.
The Caucus will be co-chaired by Representatives Jared Huffman (D-CA) and Jamie Raskin (D-MD).  Other founding members are Representatives Jerry McNerney (D-CA) and Dan Kildee (D-MI).